Reading Society Deepens Reading Culture and Awards Winners | The Guardian Nigeria News

To deepen the culture of reading in Nigeria, a non-profit organization, the AIFA Reading Society, honored the winners of its 2020/2021 AIFA Essay Competition, themed “Learning in the Digital Age”, at Lagos.

The fifth edition, which was attended by students from public and private secondary schools in Lagos, professionals from the private and public sectors and stakeholders in the education sector, was held at Four Points by Sheraton, Victoria Island Lagos.

Society President and Pan-Atlantic University Vice-Chancellor Professor Enase Okonedo said the competition, initially aimed at public schools, has evolved into the most sought-after competition among high school students.

According to her, the quality of life of the citizens of a country depends on the level of education that the nation provides, and society aims to improve the quality of education by improving literacy.

She called on stakeholders to get actively involved in this cause as many Nigerian children do not have access to quality learning.

In her speech, the Director of Google West Africa, Ms. Juliet Ehimuan, explained that technology serves as an equalizer and brings a wealth of empowerment to your fingertips.

Highlighting the achievements of Olumuyiwa Hastrup, who leads ASOP worldwide and, in fact, won a Richard Branson Award for his work, encouraged students and stakeholders in attendance to leverage technology to improve their learning skills.

A panel, which questioned the future of digital technology, noted that COVID-19 has revealed the inability of teachers and students to use digital tools for teaching and learning.

The panel, which included the Director of Science and Technology of the Lagos State Ministry of Education, Ms. Grace Olayibo Akinfoyewa; CEO/Co-Founder, Tuteria Edutech Company, Mr. Godwin Benson; Founder, Meadow Hall College, Dr. Kehinde Nwani; Partner, ICT Practice Unit, Kenna Partners, Mr. Kennethcollins Ajagu and CEO, Purple Shelve Limited, Ms. Amara Chiemeka discussed the future of digital technology in learning for Nigerians, regardless of status.

Moderated by Chiemeka, the panel concluded that training more teachers would enable learners to navigate information effectively and efficiently, and that more people could be trained.

For the first time, the Young Writers’ Awards had five categories: (a) Junior Category Private School (b) Government-owned School (c) Senior Category, Private School (d) Government-owned School and (e) Teachers’ Category .

In the Junior School Category Public School, Mrs. Overo Irenitemi from Girls’ Junior Secondary Grammar School, Keffi, Lagos received a check for N100,000 for the first prize. Ms. Peace Andrew from Girls’ Junior Secondary Grammar School, Keffi, Lagos came second and Ms. Goodness Deberechi Peter from Surulere Girls Junior Secondary School, Surulere, Lagos came third with N50,000 and N30,000 respectively.

For the Junior School Category Private School, Mrs. Odusanya Janet from Methodist Girls’ High School, Yaba, Lagos received a check for N100,000 for the top prize while Mrs. Okonkwo Regina Rejoice from Holy Child College, Ikoyi Lagos, who came second and Mrs. Onus Vanessa from Holy Child College, Ikoyi Lagos who came third received the sum of N50,000 and N30,000 respectively.

For the High School Category Public School, Mrs. Olayemi Eunice Ibukun from Surulere Girls Junior High School, Lagos received a check for N150,000 for her first prize.

Mrs. Olusanya Ifeoluwa from Girls’ Senior Secondary Grammar School came second and Mrs. Akhabue Gracefield Onosetale from Magbon Alade Senior Grammar School, Ibeju Lekki, Lagos came third and received the sum of N70,000 and N35,000 respectively.

In the High School Category Private School, Master Ekwueme Great, Igbobi College, Yaba, Lagos, received a check for N150,000 for winning the top prize. Mrs. Nnorom Chinonye from Methodist Girls’ High School, Yaba Lagos came second and Master Igbah Ighoyota Marvel from Igbobi College, Yaba, Lagos came third. They received the sum of N70,000 and N35,000 respectively.

In the teacher category, Mr. Orolu Mutiu Temitope from Surulere Junior Secondary School for Girls, Surulere, Lagos received a check for N200,000 for the first prize. Mr Adeleke Adeite of Victoria Island Senior Secondary School, Victoria Island who came second and Mr Olupitan Moses Olawale of Surulere Girls’ Senior Secondary School, Lagos who came third were awarded N150,000,000 and N100 respectively ,000.

During the presentation of the awards to the winners, the company director and CEO of Whyte Cleon Limited, Ms. Nireti Adebayo, said that education is about formal or informal knowledge and AIFA Reading Society is committed to doing so that everyone receives knowledge that could lead through all areas of life.

The awards ceremony also hosted a post-award dinner, where guests were serenaded with great music and literary performances from poets and authors. Ms. Timileyin Olugbenro, a 16-year-old author, read a chapter from one of her books, A Stitch that Saves Nine.

Company Director and Lead Partner, Kenna Partners, Professor Fabian Ajogwu thanked the sponsors of the Young Writers’ Awards 2022 which include; Kenna Partners, Pillar Oil Limited, Gamaliel & Susan Onosode Foundation, Whyte Cleon Limited, Central Security Clearing System Plc and West African Book Publishers.
He again highlighted the society’s mission and how it is committed to empowering people to learn by promoting a culture of reading and called for collaboration to make AIFA more impactful.

Comments are closed.