NIF Book Prize Announces Winner for 2021 – India Education | Latest Education News | Global education news

Bangalore : The New India Foundation has announced the winner of the fourth edition of the Kamaladevi Chattopadhyay NIF 2021 Book Prize. The 2021 winner is Dinyar Patel for Naoroji: pioneer of Indian nationalism (Harvard University Press), an outstanding biography of one of the most important figures in modern Indian history.

Watch the ad here

The winner was selected from a brilliant list of six books that covered a variety of themes and topics and featured some of the best non-fiction writing about the world’s greatest democracy.

Established in 2018, the Kamaladevi Chattopadhyay NIF Book Prize is one of the most prestigious literary prizes in the country. It celebrates high quality non-fictional literature on modern and contemporary India from writers of all nationalities published in the previous calendar year. The prize includes a cash reward of INR 15 lakhs and a citation.

This year’s winner, Dinyar Patel, was selected by a jury made up of a political scientist and author Niraja Gopal Jayal (president of the jury), entrepreneur and author Nandan Nilekani; historian and author Srinath Raghavan; historian and author Nayanjot Lahiri; and business manager Manish sabharwal.

The jury citation for the winner of the Kamaladevi Chattopadhyay NIF 2021 Book Prize reads:

Naoroji: pioneer of Indian nationalism through Dinyar Patel (Harvard University Press) is an exemplary biography on one of the first Indian nationalists, written with great lucidity and detail by a promising scholar. In his much sought-after work, Dinyar Patel shines a light on the life and legacy of Dadabhai Naoroji as a key figure in the history of India’s movement towards independence.

The award will be presented to Dinyar Patel during a special event on the 4the december 2021 organized in collaboration with the Bangalore International Center. The presentation will be followed through an interaction with the Winner which will be broadcast live on the NIF and BIC social networks at 6.30 p.m. IST.

Source link

Comments are closed.