2021 Jim Claypool Art Writing and Curatorial Contest Winners Announced

FRANKFURT, Ky. — The Kentucky Division of Conservation, in partnership with the Kentucky Association of Conservation Districts and the Kentucky Farm Bureau, has announced the winners of the 2021 Jim Claypool Art and Conservation Writing Contest.

“I would like to congratulate each of these students for their winning entries that displayed imagination and knowledge of Kentucky’s lakes, streams and rivers,” Governor Beshear said. “Each student did a great job of turning their knowledge into creative works of art and essays.”

This year’s theme, We All Need Water, helped students across the state learn more about the importance of water in Kentucky.

“It really is a highlight of our year to see all the art submissions and review all the wonderful essays,” said Paulette Akers, director of the Kentucky Division of Conservation. “I am happy that we have been able to continue the tradition of the Jim Claypool Art Writing and Curatorial Competition during these uncertain years when so much else has been affected. They always remind us why we must conserve our natural resources.

The Conservation Writing Contest, launched in 1944, is for students in grades six through 12. This year, 11,800 students from 70 counties participated. The state and area winners are below:

  • State 1st Place – Maura Eckerle (Campbell County)
  • State 2nd Place – Bryson Lee (Harlan County)
  • 3rd Place State – Jaicy Todd (Mercer County)
  • Zone 1 winner – Blake Travers (Livingston County)
  • Zone 2 winner – Jacob Rudy (Daviess County)
  • Zone 3 winner – Taylor Powell (Grayson County)
  • Zone 4 Winner – W. Thomas Fox (Spencer County)
  • Zone 5 winner – Ronan Ketron (Kenton County)
  • Zone 6 winner – Olivia Moudy (Anderson County)
  • Zone 7 winner – Madelyn Miracle (Bell County)
  • Zone 8 Winner – Jenny Hu (Pike County)
  • Zone 9 Winner – Slone Smith (Knott County)

The Jim Claypool Art Competition, started in 1974, is for students in grades one through five. This year, 29,388 students from 80 counties participated. The state and area winners are below:

  • State 1st Place – Kynlie Dowell (Pendleton County)
  • State 2nd Place – Joslin Glasscock (Boyle County)
  • 3rd Place State – Ann Katherine Wright (Barren County)
  • Zone 1 winner – Mallie Owens (Ballard County)
  • Zone 2 winner – Neil Quisenberry (Daviess County)
  • Zone 3 Winner – Bristol Butler (Hart County)
  • Zone 4 winner – Kana Kawasaki (Jefferson County)
  • Zone 5 Winner – Marymichael Gasser (Harrison County)
  • Zone 6 winner – Jaxson Crain (Lincoln County)
  • Zone 7 winner – Bastien Butler (Taylor County)
  • Zone 8 winner – Kylee Reynolds (Johnson County)
  • Area 9 winner – Adalyn Potter (Knott County)

Students will be recognized by their local conservation district. Their contributions can be viewed on the web here: https://eec.ky.gov/Natural-Resources/Conservation/Pages/Art-and-Writing-Contest.aspx

Click here for more information on Kentucky business.

Comments are closed.